Cruise Sydney Harbour in style on Duyfken – the newest member of our fleet

Experience one of the rarest ships in the world while soaking up the sunset and sails on Sydney Harbour. 

Departing from the National Maritime Museum in Darling Harbour, you’ll cruise past Barangaroo, Circular Quay, the Opera House, Garden Island and other famous sites on Sydney Harbour.

On board, relax and enjoy a gourmet snack box and drinks while enjoying the sea breeze, hearing stories of life on the ocean and watching the crew replicate 17th-century sailing.

As a replica of the first European ship to reach Australia in 1606, our expert crew will provide you with short commentaries about Duyfken's unique history at various points on the cruise. Learn and hear stories of merchant trade expeditions of the Dutch East India Trading Company, as well as gaining an understanding of 400-year-old tall ship sailing technology.

 

 

 

Dates:

May

  • Saturday, 1 May 2021
  • Friday, 7 May, 2021
  • Saturday, 8 May 2021
  • Friday, 14 May, 2021
  • Saturday, 15 May 2021
  • Friday, 21 May 2021
  • Saturday, 22 May 2021
  • Friday, 28 May 2021
  • Saturday, 29 May 2021

June

  • Friday, 4 June 2021
  • Saturday, 5 June 2021
  • Friday, 11 June 2021
  • Saturday, 12 June 2021
  • Friday, 18 June 2021
  • Saturday, 19 June 2021
  • Friday, 25 June 2021
  • Saturday, 26 June 2021

 

Inclusions

  • Three-hour cruise on one of the rarest ships in the world
  • Gourmet snack box
  • Selection of drinks (beer, wine or soft drink)

Important information

  • The ship departs at 5pm sharp from the south wharf of the Maritime Museum. Please arrive 15 minutes prior to departure
  • The sail is 3 hours in duration, with the vessel arriving back at the museum by 8pm
  • Flat shoes are recommended (no high heels)
  • We recommend bringing a warm jacket in case of cooler weather
  • Professional and experienced volunteer crew will be on board to operate the ship so you are free to sit back and enjoy the experience
  • In case of bad weather, sails may need to be cancelled. You will be informed via email 24 hours prior to departure if this occurs
  • This sail is pitched to an adult audience and not designed for children. However, children over 12 years of age are welcome to join if accompanied by an adult. The museum team is busy developing experiences that are specific to our family audiences.

 

Car parking

Duyfken sailing passengers get $15 all-day validated parking at:

  • Harbourside carpark, 100 Murray Street, Pyrmont

Upon arrival at the Duyfken, please advise your host that your car parking ticket requires stamping.

Duyfken was built by the Duyfken 1606 Replica Foundation jointly with the Maritime Museum of Western Australia and launched on 24 January 1999 in Fremantle.

 

Duyfken is proudly sponsored by:

 

 

Habitat

Vessel

Duyfken
Habitat

Vessel

HMB Endeavour
Habitat

Event

Harbour Cruises